Edwina/ Edward Thomas is an Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander person. She / He recently retired from Bunnings

Edwina/ Edward Thomas is an Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander person. She / He recently retired
from Bunnings and is married. They have 3 adult children, and 5 grandchildren, who either live
across Queensland and interstate. Edwina/ Edward lives at home with their partner, the house
was brought 10 years ago, after downsizing their family home. Edwina/ Edward loves to go for
walks with her/his dog a Jack Russell to meet friends at a local coffee shop each morning, although
not lately. Her /His friends take turns on calling or visiting each day. One of their friends who is a
nurse suggested getting a check-up.

Edwina/ Edward has a few medical issues over the past 5 years. She /He tells you that she / he is
on medication for high blood pressure. Edwina/ Edward tells you that she / he is fully vaccinated
and regular sees a General Practitioner (GP/Dr) at PHN Indigenous primary health care service.

Edwina/ Edward has recently 4 weeks ago had a mild illness with a sore throat and flu-like
symptoms. Since the illness Edwina/ Edward tells you she/ he still has a dry cough.

She/ he tells you that they have never smoked. Only drinks social but not since being unwell.
Edwina/ Edward tells you they have only been in hospital for grommets as a child, due to frequent
ear infections. She /He tells you that they did not like hospital as a child because they would not
let her/ him see her / his parents or go home. Edwina/ Edward said they still do not like hospitals
and refuses to go. Preferring to wait for an appointment with the Dr at PHN. She / He wears
glasses for reading but notice needing to use them more at work.

You noticed that Edwina/ Edward was limping when walking into the room. She/ He tells you that
they have discomfort in the lower thigh and behind the knee for 2 days. Edwina/ Edward states
that they may have strained a muscle, although do not remember a specific event for the injury
and has been taking regular Panadol for the pain.

You attend vital signs, height and weight. Temp 37.3; respiratory 20; spo2 95%; pulse 55 regular;
Bp 135/70; Pain score 5/10; Height 168 cm; Weight 75 kgs
1. Select two problems or potential problems from the case study and develop a
person-centred care plan as below.
Assessing Nursing diagnosis Plan Implement Evaluate
2. Select the relevant substandard from NMBA Registered nursing standard for
practice. Discuss how you have met this substandard.

Complete Answer:

Get Instant Help in Homework Asap
Get Instant Help in Homework Asap
Calculate your paper price
Pages (550 words)
Approximate price: -
Open chat
Hello 👋
Thank you for choosing our assignment help service!
How can I help you?